Should the VAR have awarded a penalty kick to Argentina against Saudi Arabia? (video)


Here’s another refereeing decision that will cause the ink to flow at the 2022 World Cup. After winning 1-2 for entering the case against Saudi Arabia, Argentina have reason to blame themselves. But the Argentine national team could have won a penalty kick to equalize after the hour mark.

As a ball landed in the penalty area, Nicolas Otamendi was caught by a Saudi defender, who kicked him forward, before collapsing in the rectangle. And if the error, and therefore the penalty kick, seemed obvious, the referee of the meeting did not flinch and the video assistant referee did not bother to return to the stage. A decision that will have dire consequences for Lionel Messi and his teammates, given that the score remained 1-2 until the final whistle.







Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *