Google has quietly launched a new Google Translate feature: syncing searches on your Gmail account, to allow us to find our translations on all devices.
In February 2020, Android Police teased that the company was looking into a feature to sync history Searches across all devices using your Google account. Now, some of our readers have received an invitation to save search history, manage their activity history, or continue using the app without an account.
For synchronization to work, you need to check the parameter Web & App Activity It is activated on your Google account. Authorize the recording of your activity on Google services (eg location). History synchronization that occurs several times a day.
How to access history
In the Google Translate app, you can access your search history in several ways. The first is to simply swipe from top to bottom on the home screen. You can also access it by clicking on your profile picture in the upper right and then clicking on “Chronology”. Finally, on the input screen, you will find the History icon at the top right (it’s a clock with an arrow going counterclockwise).
How to disable history
On the dedicated support page, we learned that to disable this automatic syncing, simply disconnect your Google account from the app. So there is no dedicated parameter to turn it off. Some will appreciate this feature that allows you to better maintain data confidentiality. So we will still see your search history, but it will only be your device history, locally.